Are you ready to become a realtor in this supreme region of the world? Thousands of agents are making millions of dollars annually. You can grab your share by becoming a licensed real estate agent in California. All you have to do is to pursue the following simple steps to get your salesperson license.
An individual must be at least 18 years of age or above and must be a legal resident of the United States. It is not necessary that the applicant must be a California resident to get the license. Applicants residing in other states can get the license, but they have to file Consent to Service of Process (RE 234) with the California Department of Real Estate to get permission for operating in California.
Good Character Requirement
Individuals must be honest and must not be involved in criminal activities. If an individual has a conviction, he or she might not get the license. Attempting to hide a criminal record is also grounds for denial of the license.
According to a new law, it is mandatory to provide fingerprints to the Department of Real Estate, California. The fee of the fingerprints is $51 which will have to be borne by the applicant.
The department does not require any experience to get the license. However, the applicant must complete the following three college-level courses:
• Real Estate Principles (must be in progress at least and completed prior to applying for the license)
• Real Estate Practice
• An elective course (applicant has to complete one out of 12 approved courses)
Remember! The Real Estate Practice course and an elective course must be in progress or completed at the time of applying for the license they must be completed within 18 months after issuance of the license.
Members of the California State Bar are exempted from the college-level course requirement. To get this exemption, they have to furnish the photocopy of a California State Bar membership card. Moreover, holders of LL.B or J.D degree can also get the exemption on the basis of education, but they need to submit the proof of their qualification the degrees should be issued by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (or comparable regional accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education, according to the DRE.
An individual who is interested in obtaining the real estate salesperson license must complete/enroll in the Department of Real Estate (DRE) specified courses to appear in the state examination. It is imperative to pass the state examination to get the license.
Who can qualify for State Examination?
The ideal condition is that an applicant has completed all three approved courses. However, an individual may qualify to take the state examination if:
• he/she has completed only the Real Estate Principles course he/she has to show the transcript of the completed course.
• he/she has not completed the Real Estate Principles course but he/she is enrolled for the course the proof of enrollment is required.
Applying For License
Once an individual has passed the state examination, he/she may apply for the license. Nevertheless, the individual must have to complete the other two courses (the Real Estate Practice course and an elective course) within the 18 months from the issued date of the license. In addition, the department will charge $120 as a license fee.
It is significant to remember that an individual can only get a full-license (not conditional) after successfully completing all three courses within 18 months (from the license issuance date) from the DRE accredited colleges and schools.
An individual (18 years or older and legal resident of US) who wants to get the license has to:
• provide fingerprints;
• complete or enroll in the approved course(s) from the DRE approved institutions to qualify for the exam;
• pass the state examination; and
• apply for the license
Remember that there are certain fees associated with certain steps. For instance, an applicant has to pay $51 in fingerprints fees. All the courses must be completed within 18 months of the license issuance date only the completion of the Real Estate Principles course is required prior to applying for the license.
Further, it is important to remember that a license holder cannot act as an agent until he/she is employed by a licensed broker.